Geohazards Impacting Transportation in Appalachia Call for Abstracts

Call for Abstracts The 2018 Annual Technical Forum for Geohazards Impacting Transportation will be hosted by Maryland Department of Transportation and sponsored by the Marshall University Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences (CEGAS). This year’s technical sessions will focus on the following major topics: Lessons Learned: Case Studies Rock Slopes UAV Applications Instrumentation Impact of Extreme Weather […]

Call for Papers – Natural Hazards Review Special Collection: The 2017 Disasters, Sociotechnical Perspectives

ASCE Publications Call for Papers – Abstracts Due February 28, 2018 Natural Hazards Review Special Collection: The 2017 Disasters, Sociotechnical Perspectives Invitation to Contribute:  The Journal is soliciting manuscripts, specifically on 2017 disasters, to be considered for publication in a new collection, entitled “The 2017 Disasters: Sociotechnical Perspectives”. Topics include, but are not limited to: – characterization of resilience […]

Member Highlight: Todd Hansen, Yeh and Associates, Inc.

AGHP Member Todd Hansen works out of Denver, Colorado for Yeh and Associates, a full-service engineering and construction management company that is involved in several different geohazard-related fields. Key sectors of his work include landslide and rockfall applications. Part of the company’s success, Hansen notes, is rooted in the extensive experience its company leadership has […]

NHAZCA 5th International Course on Geotechnical and Structural Monitoring

The NHAZCA 5th International Course on Geotechnical and Structural Monitoring will be held from the 21st  – 25th May 2018, in Rome. All AGHP members will benefit of a 10% discount on the course registration fee! The schedule of the 5th IcGSM will be organized as follows: –          21st May: Master Classes on monitoring systems (will be open also to people that will […]

AGHP Election Results (Term 2018-2020)

The Association of Geohazard Professionals announcement the new Board of Directors for the term of 2018 – 2020. President | Ahren Bichler, Trumer N.A. Vice President | Colby Barrett, GeoStablization International Secretary | Pierce Runnels, Geobrugg Treasurer | Mike Koutsourais, Maccaferri Individual Member Representative | Martin Derby, Golder Associates Inc  

AGHP Announces Call for Board of Directors Nominations

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE ASSOCIATION OF GEOHAZARD PROFESSIONALS (AGHP): TERM 2018 – 2020 The Association of GeoHazard Professionals (AGHP), in accordance with its bylaws, will hold elections in 2017. AGHP Members will have the opportunity to elect seven (7) Board Members. Each of the elected members will serve a three-year term, effective 9 January […]

AGHP 2018 Rope Access Safety Recognition Program

To promote safe work environments within the Geohazard industry, AGHP has initiated an industry-wide Rope Access Safety Recognition Program.  This annual program will recognize companies that develop and implement safe rope access work procedures, provide education and training to their personnel, and commit to enhancing the safety culture within their organizations.  A review of the […]