Debris Flow and Steep Creek Hazards Mitigation Committee
Chaired by Dr. Clarence Choi, The University of Hong Kong

As human development continues to encroach upon hillsides and extreme rainfall events occur with increasing frequency due to climate change, dangers associated with geophysical flows will inevitably increase. Despite efforts on improving scientific understanding and mitigating geophysical hazards, as many as 2,250 deaths resulted from 444 fatal landslides in 2016. There is undoubtedly a need to dedicate resources to mitigate geophysical hazards.

The focus of this committee is to collect, disseminate, and produce reliable data, develop new technology and resources for the mitigation of debris flows that will be made available through the Association. It is envisioned that the committee will consist of individuals from a wide range of backgrounds including industry professionals, consultants and academics that are actively engaged in planning, constructing and researching mitigation measures.



Committee Members And Task Forces

Learn More

Meet the members of the Debris Flow and Steep Creek Hazards Mitigation Committee.


  • Clarence Choi The University of Hong Kong – Chair 
  • Sunil Poudyal KHUST (Hong Kong) – Secretary 


  • Ahren Bichler, Trumer (Canada)
  • David Bonneau (Canada)
  • Peter Bullock (Canada)
  • Chris Bunce, BGC (North America)
  • Matthias Busslinger, (Canada)
  • Felix Camire, Town of Canmore (Canada)
  • Yifei Cui, HKUST (Hong Kong)
  • Sage Evans GSI (North America)
  • Dave Gauthier, BGC (North America)
  • Benjamin George (United States)
  • Gordon Zhou, IMHE of CAS (China)’
  • Amber Granger (United States)
  • Paul Hale GeoBuild (United States)
  • Kris Holm, BGC (Canada)
  • Toshiyuki Horiguchi
  • Peter Ingraham (North America)
  • Matthias Jakob, BGC (North America)
  • Dominique Laigle (France)
  • Alessandro Leonardi, (Italy)
  • Brent McDonald (Canada)
  • Kevin McCoy,Colorado School of Mines (US)
  • Scott Mcdougall, UBC (Canada)
  • Andrew Mitchell, UBC (Canada)
  • Emily Moase, BGC (Canada)
  • Michael Perlow Jr. (United States)
  • Marina Pirulli (Italy)
  • Guillaume Piton (France)
  • Tim Shevlin, GeoBrugg (North America) 
  • Ben Singleton-Polster, Golder (Canada)
  • Roger Skirrow (Canada)
  • Tim Smith (Canada)
  • Dongri Song, IMHE of CAS (China)
  • Alex Strouth, BGC (Canada)
  • Axel Volkwein
  • Corinna Wendeler, (Switzerland)
  • Daryn Yonin (Canada)
  • Chan-Young Yune, Gangneung Wonju National University (Korea)
  • Michael Zimmerman
  • Sophia Zubrycky, UBC (Canada)
  • Dingzhu Liu (China)
  • Daoyuan Tan (Hong Kong)


Learn More

The Debris Flow and Steep Creek Hazards Mitigation Committee are part of the following Subcommitties.


  • Design Standards
    • Guillaume Piton (Chair)
    • Dongri Song
    • Alex Strouth
    • Emily Moarse
    • Felix Camire
    • Luis Roberto
    • Toshi Horiguchi
    • Mike Koutsourais
    • Sage Evans
    • Clarence Choi
  • Field Monitoring
    • Gordon Zhou (Chair)
    • Luis Roberto
    • Clarence Choi
  • Numerical Modeling
    • Marina Pirulli (Chair)
    • Andrew Mitchell
    • Yifei Cui
    • Scott McDougall
    • Luis Roberto
    • George Goodwin
    • Toshi Horiguchi
  • Physical Modelling
    • Chan-Young Yune (Chair)
    • Dongri Song
    • Yifei Cui